Canonet Range Finder in Paris

I recently bought myself a new (used) Canonet QL17 rangefinder. Its a neat little thing. Its lightweight, compact and the lens is superb (when used properly) and is very discreet for candid street photography. This is my first “real” rangefinder with a dedicated RF patch. I took it on holiday with me to Paris and ran a roll of Ilford HP5 through it. I developed the film a couple of days ago and got it scanned on using my generously donated Epson V700 scanner. I’m very happy with the results, though I must say, 35mm is harder to develop than 120.

Heres the shots: 

Image

 

Image

 

Image

 

Image

 

Image

 

Image

 

Image

 

I’m having trouble nailing the exposure on the move. This camera has a meter, but as of yet, I can’t find a battery to power it, so I have been guessing exposures using the sunny 16 rule.

Thanks for reading

2 thoughts on “Canonet Range Finder in Paris

  1. Hi, for the replacment battery I believe you can use a 625 hearing aid battery, it is rated at 1.4v whereas the original was 1.35, with this diffent voltage you will have to compensate for the difference in exposure. The small battery company on the interweb has a good writ up about the batteries.

    Im looking at getting back into film, jyst put a roll through my yashica electro, im seriously thinking of getting the canonet, I would like full manual control which the yashica diesnt have. Cheers, jon

Leave a comment