My exploration into Medium Format (and scanning)

So over the past few months, I have been experimenting with medium format, with both the KIEV 88CM and the Zenza Bronica ETRS. Bought from West Yorkshire Cameras. Being cheap as I am, I have been self developing using Ilfrasol and Ilford Rapid Fixer. Using a medium format camera is a steep learning curve over using a regular SLR or rangefinder. The key difference is the size of the film. On a medium format camera, the surface area of the film is about 2 times the size of regular 35mm film. This allows for a number of benifits, increased dynamic range, far higher (equivalent) resolution and a “cleaner” grain. Medium format also has a particular look. The bokeh is unique and fantastic. Developing your own film is interesting and rewarding. I mix up my own solutions for the developer from powder chemicals, kindly donated to me. I use a method known as agitation developing. I won’t bore you with the process, but it is fantastic. I can only do black and white as I do not have a precisely controlled water temperatures, and black and white is quite forgiving.

I had developed the films as soon as I exposed them all, but had (until today) no means of digitising them. So far I am honestly, a little dissapointed in the results. None of my scans are particularly well focussed. I think this is due to the convex nature of the negatives when they are placed on the scanning screen, which may throw the neg out of the focus zone. If anyone can offer any insights, PLEASE let me know.

Enough waffle, heres the pictures:

Image

Camera: Zenza Bronica ETRS, Lens: 75mm f2.8, Film: Tri-X 400

 

Image

Camera: Zenza Bronica ETRS, Lens: 75mm f2.8, Film: Kodak Tri-X 400

 

Image

Camera: Kiev 88CM, Lens: 80mm F2.8, Film: Ilford FP4 400

Taken at the Colleville cemetery.

 

Image

Camera: Kiev 88CM, Lens: 80mm F2.8, Film: Ilford FP4+ 400

Thanks for reading.

3 thoughts on “My exploration into Medium Format (and scanning)

  1. Your scans shown are really quite noisy, I suspect that your scanner is not of photographic quality. I I suggest if that is the case it may be worth seeking out a second hand photographic scanner.
    I have an Epson Perfection 4990 which comes with various holders for different size films and gives excellent results with 645 negs allowing you to select the print size required and apply sharpening (it will even remove scratches and creases on print scans although Photoshop will do this better if you have it) at the point of scanning . The other thing to pay attention to is cleaning the negs before scanning.

    1. I now have an epson v700. These were me having a go on a none photographic scanner and it certainly shows. Have a look at my more recent posts to see the improvement! The problem was the scanner couldn’t hold the negs flat! Cheers

Leave a comment